How Did I Get So Lucky?

I need to take a moment to express my appreciation and gratitude for the most amazing woman I have ever met.

image
Photo by Jim Gabbard

I mean, just look at her! What a fox! My wife is one of the funniest, smartest, strongest, most loving, creative, and beautiful people I have ever met. Completely beautiful inside and out. She is an amazing master cosmetologist, an incredible artist, a great cook, and a patient, loving, and supportive mother and wife.

When we first met, I wasn’t in the best place. I knew immediately that she was special and I wanted to get to know her; but I was convinced that I needed to keep my distance until I was a “better person” or in a “better place” (still not exactly sure what I meant by that). But, thankfully, she wasn’t buying it. Somehow, she saw through my flaws and bad habits and saw something in me she loved and wouldn’t listen to my excuses.

And now, we’ve been married two and a half years, and tomorrow will be celebrating our son’s first birthday. Throughout our entire relationship she has supported and encouraged me; always seeing personal strength and talent in me that I have either forgotten or never known was there. She always sees the best person I can be and pushes me to get there without changing me.

I could go on, but it would take me days to tell you everything she is and everything she has done for our family. She’s my best friend, my biggest supporter, my strength, my heart, my everything. I don’t know if I’ll every be able to fully show her how much she means to me; but I plan on spending the rest of my life trying.

Leave a Reply

